After almost 2 days on the stand, Rachel Jeantel was finally dismissed or at least for now. Rachel Jeantel, aka Witness 8 aka DeeDee is the childhood friend of shooting victim 17 year-old Trayvon Martin.

Rachel Jeantel 2Documents show she was on her cell phone with Trayvon Martin during the crucial time when Martin was shot down. On February 26, 2012 at about 7:15pm his body lay motionless in the middle walkway of Retreat View Circle Condos thanks to the inane actions of an overzealous Law-Enforcement-Flunkie who had the audacity to think he looked suspicious. This person 29yo George Zimmerman is now on trial facing 25 years to life for 2nd degree murder or if he’s lucky perhaps 5 years for manslaughter.

For the last year and half there’s been much talk about Witness 8. The reason being, Witness 8 later known as “Dee Dee” was not found out by law enforcement during the initial investigation.  Law enforcement, as 19 year-old W8 Rachel Jeantel so wisely pointed out didn’t follow normal procedure. Unlike the television show “The First 48 Hours” they didn’t check the victim’s cell phone records to find out who he spoke with in the last minutes of his life. This is Detective 101, something I pointed out early on.

 Why didn’t Sanford Police Dept. or the FDLE do this simple task?

Why were they in a rush to set George Zimmerman free without a full investigation?

I shiver to think, “racism” but maybe it is. Maybe it isn’t George Zimmerman who is the racist, maybe it’s Sanford PD and Florida Dept. of Law Enforcement, after all Seminole County population is 94% white and maybe it’s expected. I don’t know because I don’t live there but if I did, I’d want to know why.

At trial today, defense attorney Don West picked up where he left off.  The now-infamous Rachel Jeantel took the stand. You could tell she didn’t want to be there. She didn’t want to be badgered for another 4 hours like yesterday. It’s really pitiful to watch.

Here we have this 60 year old, well-educated, well-practiced attorney cross examining a reluctant young woman whose only crime was to happen to be on the phone with Trayvon Martin moments before he was brutally shot in the chest. And for that she had to come out of the closet, show her face and take the abuse of Don West who was hired to try to save the better years of George Zimmerman’s life.
Yesterday when Rachel Jeantel was introduced to the world, liked everyone else, I tried to size her up, figure her out. What I saw was a young black female who was well groomed, beautiful skin, beautiful green eyes and enough stature to hold her own on any block in Miami. True, she spoke in low tones and in the dialect of many young women of her culture which made us all listen very closely.

She retold the events of evening of February 26th as Trayvon Martin related to her. She said Trayvon Martin referred to the man who was stalking him as Creepy White Cracker. The courtroom gasped but nonetheless it was a good thing.  This let the jury know who she was and how Trayvon Martin perceived George Zimmerman. Amazingly, Rachel Jeantel verbalized all of that with one phrase.

~~~

Not having ever lived in Miami, Florida, I don’t know much about the African American youth of their city but I am familiar with the African American youth of New Orleans. I’ve learned this mostly through my son whose best friends are African American whom I’ve played mother to on several occasions.  As I spoke with them I learned a common thread among these young men, they do not trust law enforcement.
I’m tempted to think this is same for Rachel Jeantel and one of the reasons why she tried so hard to lay low. I’ve learned her mother lives in Haiti. I’ve learned she is 19 years old still in high school and sadly we learned today that she cannot read cursive. I’m not surprised by her admission.

I’m surprised that others are surprised. This isn’t new to me. Here in New Orleans area public schools, cursive writing is a thing of the past. No longer do teachers spend time teaching children cursive writing and good penmanship like they did in parochial schools where I was taught. According to educators this is because in our new age of technology, computers have taken the place of penmanship. I find it appalling. I hope these educators will take note of this trial, proof that all forms of writing are important.

In all, Rachel Jeantel did a stellar job on the stand. Regardless of misquoting phrases in her depositions, her story never faltered. Witness 8 was the most brave and honest witness as yet to testify.

Thank you Rachel Jeantel for coming forward.

Those of us who wish justice for Trayvon Martin will never forget you.

TheJBMission~

