Most people know me as JB of www.theJBMission.com, the person who blogged the Casey Anthony Case with the intention of giving the “opposing side” a voice. During that saga of sharing questionable documents and alternate theories, I strove to be true to myself and at the same time not cater to those who came to my blog to malign the non-believers of the “Casey Killed Caylee” campaign that was being force fed to me by the media and touted by the majority of Casey Anthony forums. I also tried my best to keep politics out of our discussion, keeping in mind that discussion of politics and religion generally provoke heated discussions even amongst friends. At Blogs much like bars and family gatherings, topics of politics and religions can be risky if not dangerous.

I feel very proud of what was accomplished at TheJBMission.com, along the way I met the most wonderful virtual friends Blogdom had to offer and savored the most gratifying feeling that came to be on July 5, 2011 when Casey Anthony was acquitted of all charges having to do with the death of her beautiful, beloved child Caylee Marie Anthony.

With the Anthony case behind me, my thoughts have moved onto other happenings in America. Two of my pet peeves are discrimination in the American workforce and the American focus on physical appearance. It’s became apparent to me that the basic right to be true to one’s self in this nation, to enjoy all of the amenities this country has to offer is in jeopardy.

No longer are we free to be ourselves and at the same time have a viable job in America. With the jobless rate as of April 2012 at 8.2 percent, it’s a struggle to land a job for anyone much less the cute and cuddly chubby girl, or the long haired philosophical Hippie guy, or the all knowing grandmother who’s been through it all and has valuable life lessons to share. That workforce doesn’t exist anymore.

I see the workforce today in its earliest stage of development to be hostile and unfair. Today all that employers generally ask is that you don’t smoke and that you’re not obese. As a premise for these requirements, the issue of health and insurance comes into play. It’s based on junk studies, junk science and the presumption that smokers and people who are overweight have more health issues than the non-smokers and the weight proportioned individuals.

Thinking back to when I first went into the workforce, these things were never considered. As a matter of fact, for an employer to openly state these preferences would be grounds for a discrimination lawsuit so today I ask myself, “what happened while I was busy working 40 hour weeks and sending 3 children to school?” “What happened while I had my nose to the grind, not paying attention to county/parish meetings and state legislation?” “What was happening in our country before CSPAN and CNN?” I really don’t know what happened but I do know that my rights today are not the same as my rights in 1972 when I went out on my first job interview that I found in the classified ads of the Times Picayune and landed that job, that day without a resume before I reached home.

Wake up America,

Our Rights are Slowly Disappearing!

As I’ve stated before, I never paid much attention to politics. I just assumed that the majority of people in America who did read the small print in the campaign brochures knew the candidate was right for the job. Who knows? Maybe the candidate was right for the job initially but changed his agenda when he reached Washington D.C.? Maybe he saw that there was money to be made from lobbyist, maybe he had to play a game of “you scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours” in order to see his campaign promises come to fruition?

There’s a disturbing trend here and no, this trend will not affect me but this trend may affect my grandchildren or yours. The reality is we all came into this world with genes from our parents which don’t change because they worked out a gym or ran 2 miles a day. These genes are genetic and stay with us and are passed on to generations. I don’t like the thought of my grandchildren struggling to be physically perfect. I prefer  thinking of them expanding their minds, enjoying all that life has to offer without fear of not being accepted.

BULLYING

Today bullying is more prevalent than ever. Why is that? Is it because society is faced with the reality that not all are born equally beautiful and that society is promoting intolerance by its constant focus of physicality and that brains nor pleasant personality are  acceptable?

Not all of our children who were born physically attractive home free. They fear losing their attractiveness and possibly becoming the ugly troll on the school bus and one day become the “bullied one” and not the “bullier.” That’s an adolescent’s painful reality.

When thinking adolescence, the word “acne” comes to mind. Heaven forbid they hit a stage in puberty, wake up one morning with a pimple on their nose! Its not hard for me to imagine this could be a tragic and suicidal situation. I’ll address bullying in my upcoming article because there is a connection to America’s focus on the beautiful to bullying.  From there we’ll go to McDonalds.. stay tuned.

~~~

TheJBMish~

Source:

http://news.yahoo.com/us-economy-adds-120k-jobs-jobless-rate-8-123735541.html

*Note: This is a sample of the type of topics for my new blog  www.thejbmission2.wordpress.com.  As you all know I tried to avoid political discussions here because the main topic was Casey and Caylee Anthony.   With that case practically out of the media, I wanted to share other things that bother me.   Check it out and share your point of view.  If you’ve written an article on other topics, you can share your thoughts there too.  So lets get political!

