Up until the day July 15, 2008, I hadn’t considered blogging. Blog definition: a diary, a place to chat, sharing thoughts, trading facts, stating opinions and sometimes just be a pest to the zealots who lean too much in one direction. But something happened on July 15, 2008, or was it July 16th? It was the evening while watching the Nancy Grace show when I first heard the 911 call. The infamous one where Cindy Anthony is screaming, “I can’t find my grand daughter and it smells like there’s been a dead body in the damn car!” Car, what car? Oh, the daughter’s car! And so it began, the “need to blog” and the “need to know more”.

By the next day, it was all over the air waves, locally and nationally. More information slowly drifted into the mysterious story. Little did I know that this would be the beginning to my new found addiction, blogging?

I’m not a newbie to true crime novels, or to forensic science. Long before the days of Court TV, I was a true crime guru. Having the most investigative mother of the city of New Orleans, mystery was the catalyst to read. Mystery in itself interested me, but nonfiction was the ultimate reading to me. I opened the door with “The Stranger Beside Me”, written by crime novelist, Ann Rule. The stranger she wrote of was the infamous serial killer Ted Bundy who she had the fortune to meet while working on Crisis Line.
Crisis Line is a phone service to help those in deep despair who are contemplating suicide. How ironic that Ted Bundy would offer to help people over the phone when in flesh he would be happy to end all of their problems by torturing them to death. These enigmatic details lured me into the criminal mind and my thirst for more. Through out my forty years of reading, I’ve read close to fifty true crime novels. My mother and I would share our books and discuss them for hours over cups of coffee. I absolutely loved these days when my mother and I would brainstorm together and analyze murderers and their terrible deeds. As time pasted, Mom suffering from Alzheimer’s, our book discussions grew scarce and I lost my mentor and book club best friend.

My mother JB, a mild mannered bleached blond bombshell was my mentor. She was diligent. She was smart. She was a lady in every sense of the word. Nothing makes me more proud than to hear those words, “you’re just like your mother”. An honor I’ll take any day of the week because in my eyes, she is a saint. Her pursuit to truth, Oh, how she hated a liar! To her, liars came in all forms, the air waves, television, her husband, the milkman, and sometimes her children, if they had the nerve to lie to her, were the lowest of low lives. She could put you on the spot in a minute and a guilt trip that could last years. Before you lied to Momma, you thought long and hard because sooner or later, you would be found out and the lesson wasn’t worth the crime of lying to her. “How dare you?” “I did not raise like that” are just a few of my mother’s methods to make you feel small and dumb.
The truth was so much easier and most of the time she would justify your misbehavior. Mom, being an adopted child, she leaned hard to the left when it came to democracy and her children. We were after all smart and whatever we did, we must have had a good reason. Confess to her that you robbed a bank, and she’d probably reply, “Baby, you must have needed the money”. Life wasn’t bad being one of JB’s kids just tougher when we practiced her laws in real life. In life with Mom, you just had to tell the truth. In real life, a truthful explanation could get you a criminal record. Momma didn’t raise any dummies either. Don’t do the crime, if you can’t do the time rings loudly in my ears. Needless to say, my upbringing plays a huge part in who I am today. I’m not a blond bombshell, but I have a penchant for truth and fairness and a need for true crime novels which is why I warmed up fondly to the Caylee Anthony case.
As for my blogging experience itself, at the beginning it was a pleasant experience but within 2 weeks I realized I had shifted sides as more information surfaced.

I was baffled by differences of opinions, view points and some plain “D” rudeness by a few of seemingly intelligent groups of people. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a follower of murder crimes, this isn’t my first time up on the horse lets say but never before have I witnessed such hatred. Abhorrence of any person suspected of killing an innocent child is expected but when it drifted toward the family who incidentally reported Caylee missing, I was shocked. Not joining in on malicious name calling made me an outsider. Opening my own forum was my only hope to voice my opinion without derision and so here I am at theJBMission.wordpress.com. Blogging on the Caylee Anthony case is similar to belonging to book club with an incredible amount of members. I’m just thrilled to belong to this branch of the Book Club among the most intelligent, clever, free thinkers in all of Blogdom.
This is why I’m here today, still blogging and counting the days until trial day, May 9, 2011. Carpe Diem!

